“The Door”
All Saints Episcopal Church
3 Chevy Chase Circle
Washington, D.C.
Monday, October 3, 2011

iPhone 4 Camera, Hipstamatic

Behind schedule and on my way to an early morning photography workshop taught by my friends David and Ally McKay at the University of Maryland, Marriott, I passed the All Saints Episcopal Church, aglow with golden morning light, and after a brief moment of decision–I turned around to shoot some photos.  And although my inspiration to stop was to shoot the morning light striking the stonework of the church, I was intrigued by the mysterious nature that emanates from this image as portrayed in black-and-white.  I almost neglected to shoot the elderly couple entering the holy setting, but the flow of their bodies and clothes adds depth and story to the image.  As does the shadowed greeter in the doorway.